San Diego Boating Injury Attorneys
If you have been injured in a boating accident, contact an experienced San Diego boating accident lawyers immediately so that the incident can be investigated and evidence can be secured before it disappears or is altered.
- Cruise Ship Accident
- Fisher Injury
- Personal Watercraft Accident
- Boat Accident Wrongful Death
- Boat Accident Injuries
- California Boat Accident Laws
With its many freshwater and saltwater areas and plentiful warm, sunny weather, San Diego is an ideal location for boating and water sports. Popular boating and fishing spots include San Diego Bay, De Anza Cove and Fiesta Island in Mission Bay, El Capitan, Lake Jennings, Lake Murray, and Lake Poway-just to name a few. Though, with an estimated 900,000 registered vessels in California alone, according to a 2009 report by the California Department of Boating and Waterways (CDBW), these areas tend to get very congested during the summer and on holidays.
To help keep these waterways safe, the CDBW has set up state regulations on top of federal laws governing vessel and vessel operations. These laws fall into four categories: equipment, maximum weight and horsepower, registration, and driving.
Though, with so much waterway traffic, it is no surprise that the number of boating accidents is still high. The CDBW reported roughly 2.500 accidents in 2009. Of that, 40% of those resulted in injuries and deaths and more than $6 million dollars in property damages.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a boating accident, contact the experienced San Diego boating accident lawyers at Jurewitz Law Group. We will focus on getting you the compensation you need and deserve. Call us at (888) 233-5020 to set up a free consultation.
California Boating Laws
California requires all boats to carry a Coast Guard-approved life jacket for each person on board. Vessels longer than 16 feet must also carry a throwable flotation device. On larger vessels, children under 11 must wear life jackets while the vessel is in operation. Vessels must also have the proper fire extinguishers, sound signaling devices, and navigation lights.
Maximum Weight and Horsepower
Motorboats less than 20 feet long and manufactured after 1972 must display capacity and safe horsepower information and cannot exceed the posted limits.
Most boats must have current registration, even if they are not being used. Exemptions apply to boats propelled manually, boats 8 feet or less in length that are propelled by sail, vessels with Coast Guard registration, lifeboats aboard ships, and boats with valid registration in other states that do not operate for more than 90 consecutive days in California waters.
To register your boat, visit your local California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or go online at http://dmv.ca.gov/boatsinfo/boatreg.htm. They will issue a certificate of number, a certificate of ownership and registration stickers. Stickers must be displayed next to the boat registration number.
Operators must be 16 years or older if the vessel is more than 15 horsepower. You must follow the speed limit. The maximum speed is 5 mph when close to a beach, float, passenger landing or swimmers. It is against the law to operate the boat recklessly and under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you or someone you love was injured in a boating accident due to someone else's negligence, you are entitled to receive compensation that covers your medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, and pain and suffering. Contact one of the experienced San Diego boating accident lawyer at the Jurewitz Law Group immediately after an accident so that the incident can be investigated and evidence can be secured before it disappears or is altered. Our attorneys will make sure that you get the compensation you need and deserve. Call us at (888) 233-5020.
- Usher’s Stepson Declared Brain Dead after Tragic Jet Ski Accident
- July 9th, 2012
- Fiesta Island Boat Accident Leaves Young Girl Injured
- August 9th, 2011